LSSA Lean Six Sigma – Black Belt (Theoretical)

Six Sigma is a method for process improvement by using analytical and statistical techniques. Six Sigma is based on the “Continuous Improvement Maturity Model” (CIMM), which is used for developing world-class products. “Lean” in this context means that several processes are considered comprehensively, enabling holistic process optimisation.

The internationally recognised LSSA Lean Six Sigma certifications provide four levels of specialisation in the fields of process improvement, quality management and product development. These are the Yellow Belt, Orange Belt, Green Belt and Black Belt certifications.

Training for the LSSA Lean Six Sigma - Black Belt certificate is very practice-oriented and includes activities that could improve processes in your company during the course.

The Black Belt certification consists of the theoretical exam and a practical assessment.

If you pass the theoretical exam you will receive a certificate that states you passed the theoretical exam.

You will receive the full Black Belt certificate if you pass the practical assessment within a maximum period of two years after having passed the theoretical exam.

How do I obtain the LSSA certification?

To be certified you must pass the theoretical LSSA Lean Six Sigma Black Belt certification exam.

You can prepare for certification by attending an accredited training course for LSSA Lean Six Sigma Black Belt certification; participants will have relevant content and topics clearly explained and taught to them. Self-study is not possible for the LSSA Lean Six Sigma Black Belt.

The syllabus covers an introduction to Six Sigma and the development of a phase model.

The Six Sigma approach for improving the value chain in production and service companies uses the standard “DMAIC cycle” procedure (Define, Measure, Analyse, Improve, Control), which is discussed extensively during training and applied with a practical approach. In addition to the course units, you will work on an improvement project in your company from the Six Sigma perspective and discuss the progress of this project during the course.

What are the entry requirements?

There are no specific requirements or required pre-certifications. All four (Theoretical) LSSA certificates can be obtained independently of one another by taking the necessary certification exams.

How does this certification benefit me?

With the LSSA Black Belt certification you will:

  • have an internationally recognised certification.
  • learn the individual phases of Six Sigma projects.
  • gain the knowledge required to lead project teams.
  • know what tools can be used in Six Sigma projects.
  • have the chance to carry out your first Six Sigma project with the help of a Black Belt Master, and to analyse and optimise this alongside your work.

Who is this certification for?

This certification is aimed at anyone interested in the topic of Lean Six Sigma. It is particularly suitable for:

  • Department managers, project managers
  • Process engineers
  • Consultants

What other certifications can you recommend?

The full Lean Six Sigma certificate requires sufficient achievement in both theoretical and practical element.

Within two years after passing the theory exams, candidates are required to submit the projects. The projects will be assessed by LSSA accredited Master Black Belts.

As preparation for the Black Belt certification, we recommend the LSSA Yellow Belt, Orange Belt and Green Belt certifications.

Other areas of interest could be:

DevOps Agile Skills Association (DASA) DevOpsiSQI® Certified Agile Tester (CAT)iSQI® Certified Agile Business Analysis (CABA)